RSS Feed

Mitigating Circumstances

I’ve been incognito on the blogging front for the past week, having been laid low by a horrible virus. On the surface, this didn’t seem so bad, giving me a bona fide excuse to stay in bed all day watching Grey’s Anatomy re-runs with my cat (this is my life, please don’t judge). However, illness struck the night before my law exam, meaning that I’ve had to do something which I’ve managed to avoid in the past four years of university: claiming mitigating circumstances.

This was a venture into the unknown for me because I’ve always been, for want of a better word, a goody two-shoes. I was the child who cried at school because I’d forgotten to bring in my homework (not even forgotten to do it, but just forgotten to bring it with me to class) and who once sat an exam having almost passed out ten minutes beforehand. But last Wednesday I had to face facts: there was no way I was staying upright long enough to sit my law exam.

I’m now having to wade through the swamp of bureaucracy that comes with missing an exam. It’s not enough that the invigilators saw me looking like I was at death’s door, I need a doctor’s note to back up my claim. And, of course, I have to pay for the note. Plus, I haven’t yet been able to work out whether I need to fill in a mitigating circumstances form or whether the NCTJ just want my doctor’s note. So I delegated: I handed it over to the admin office and now I’m just hoping that they have more of a clue than I do. It wouldn’t be difficult…

About julieffisher

Commodities journalist and trainee roller girl. I'm usually thinking about travel or derby and I spend too much money on pretty jackets.

Leave a Reply

